Book Review: Wonder by RJ Palicio

Hello everyone!

First of all, I want to think my amazing grandma for buying me this book. 🙂

Cover/Blurb

11387515

I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.

August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?

Guys, the cover is just AH I LOVE IT. I like how the ears are uneven for some reason. It makes the face on the cover really is Auggie. The blue in the background is beautiful and I adore the font they used and the color combination and just IT’S AWESOME.

Cover:

four-stars

Four out of five stars!

The blurb is perfection. The first part draws you in. You want to read more. I love how it ‘relates’ to  new kids, reaches out to you. I just love how the blurb is being read to you. GAH I LOVE IT I LOVE IT

Blurb:

5-star-rating

If you guys didn’t guess from my rant review I rate the blurb five stars! Honestly I wasn’t all #practical (Read reviews, Google the author, etc.) when I decided to read this book, the main reason I did was the blurb. I mean it’s just so aesthetic and AHH. Why do I keep saying that

Characters

Don’t get me started on Auggie. He was so well done. I wish the author would describe him more, like how his face looks and everything, but then the blurb couldn’t have that #supercalifragilisticexpialidocious line at the beginning. 🙂 I laughed with him. I cried with him. I felt bad for him. I thought with him. This character was just amazing. One of the author reviews on the back of  the book said, ” I dare you not to FALL IN LOVE with August Pullman.” Hey, I was gonna say that.  I took the dare. And utterly failed. And then crumpled in to a heap of despair when the book was over because I was deprived of my daily dose of Auggie Pullman. *Runs off to google ways to watch the movie version*

Via was just an amazing character. I love how the perspectives mainly switched to her (and Auggie’s) POV because it was amazing to see how she looked at life and how she was going through high school and trying to protect Auggie. Via was such a deep character. I loved the way she thought and the way she shared her memories.

Summer was super interesting. I loved the description, as he seems very pretty. Her kindness toward August and the friendship she offered him was wonderful. (Pun not intended.) She had such an awesome train of thought and amazing back story.

Jack Will was very deep. He had lots of twists and turns and you could never tell if he was the bad guy or not. At first he seemed fine and then THAT PLOT TWIST OMGOSH.

Justin was weird. His chapter had NO CAPITALS and was written in present tense and ARGG IT WAS SO. FREAKIN. ANNOYING. I seriously wanted to skip through his part but I *had to* read it so I could tell you guys not to read it. But if you choose to not read it some stuff won’t make sense. So read it but read it very fast so you can get back to August’s POV.

And there a million more characters but I’m just to lazy to review all of them. 

Characters:

four-stars

Four stars, but if it wasn’t for Justin it would’ve been a five. 😦

Format

I really loved the format/style of this book. There were six (I think) parts, each told in the POV of a different character. The parts were divided in to scenes that had titles relevant to what was going on in that scene. The format was very clean and even. I loved it.

5-star-rating

Really loved the format, enough to give it five stars! Palicio did a very good job on this.

Overall

Do I recommend this book? YES. Read it or face the wrath of Emmie.

four-stars

Four stars!

Will you be a good Realmer and read this book?

img_0817-9

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Wonder by RJ Palicio

  1. I loved this book! It was great! 🙂 It helped me get a new perspective on people who may look different to us. Justin’s part was kind of odd, I guess it showed his character, though.
    ~Gracie 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

