Taco ‘Bout it Tuesday No. 3: Past Tense vs. Present Tense

Hi, Realmers! So sorry I missed last Tuesday. I was at my grandma’s house! I did a post on that at my other blog. (link opens in a new window/tab)

today’s Taco ‘Bout it Tuesday is…

PAST TENSE vs. PRESENT TENSE!!

                                                  🌮

Present Tense

Slowly, I knock on the door. My heart is pounding against my chest. My legs shake so  violently that I’m not sure they’ll hold me up. I try to tell myself to stop being so nervous, but it keeps coming.

The door opens.

                                                   🌮

Past Tense

Slowly, I knocked on the door. My heart was pounding against my chest. My legs shook so violently that I wasn’t sure that they’ll hold me up. I tried to tell myself to stop being so nervous, but it kept coming.

The door opened.

With the Present Tense, you feel like you’re walking along with the character as the story happens. The ‘The door opens’ line seems more dramatic in Present Tense.

With he past tense, you feel more like the character is telling you what happened. Some novels begin like, ‘I can’t believe that happened. I have to write it down before I forget.’ Then they switch to Past Tense.

Remember in the very first Taco ‘Bout it Tuesday I said that certain Persons are better paired wth a certain Tense? In order to be fair to poor Past Tense, we will write this passage again in both Tenses, except in Third person.

                                                         🌮

Present Tense

Slowly, she knocks on the door.Her heart is pounding against her chest. Her legs shake so  violently that Lucy’s not sure they’ll hold her up anymore. She tries to tell herself to stop being so nervous, but it keeps coming.

The door opens.

                                                         🌮

Past Tense

Slowly, Lucy knocked on the door. Her heart was pounding against her chest. Her legs shook so violently that she wasn’t sure that they’ll hold her up. Lucy tried to tell herself to stop being so nervous, but it kept coming.

The door opened.

This paragraph might seem better in Past Tense, or it might seem better in Present Tense. take our poll here to make your opinion count. The winning tense will be announced next Taco Tuesday.

                                                        🌮

TACO SONG OF THE DAY

Taco Song LYRICS

                                                         🌮

TACO PLACE OF THE DAY

Bob’s Taco Station

YOU MUST TRY THEIR BREAKFAST TACOS. AHHH THEY’RE SOO GOOD.

                                                          🌮

TACO TAG

Seriously?? No one did the Taco Tag?? Respect the Taco, peeps!! Do you want free taco gift cards o the taco place of your choice or what?

TTYFN!

img_0817-9

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

